During this year, we recognise our many extraordinary graduates by honouring the achievements of 50 alumni. We celebrated 10 of these honourees at the Grand Ball held during the April 2022 graduation ceremonies at Rhodes University in Makhanda.  The remaining  40 will be acknowledged later this year, in alumni events hosted by the Rhodes University Communications Division in Cape Town, Johannesburg, and Durban. Below are the first 10 who represent a mix of those early students who shaped the journalism of the 70s and 80s and more recent graduates who in their short careers have already made their mark.

Past awardees: April 2022

Guy Berger

Zubeida Jaffer

Rich Mkhondo

Krivani Pillay

Margaret Jjuuko

Haru Mutasa

Pippa Ehrlich

Yusuf Omar

Zikhona Tshona

Kathryn Cleary

Rebecca Davis

Leonie Joubert

Ray Hartle

Daneel Knoetze

Alison Gillwald

Minoshni Pillay

Karyn Maughan

Joffe Graeme

Accone Tanya

Bryce-Pease Sherwin

Quintal Angela

Naidoo Anand

Brown Audrey

Valentine Sue

Patsanza Marshall Tinashe

Lankester Tony

Jeon Jin

Upcoming awardees

 Peter Bruce, Paula Fray, Phillippa Yaa de Villiers, Stephen Grootes, Nick Grubb,  Angie Kapelianis, Atiyya Khan, David Mann, Admire Mare, Michael Markovitz, Lizeka Mda, Lindile Mpanza, Kammy Naidoo, Yolisa Njamela, James Oatway, David O’Sullivan, Daylin Paul, Heather Robertson, Elna Schutz, Marion Sparg, Steyn Speed, Kerry Swift, Deirdre Uren.